South African Power Flying Association

a section of The Aero Club of South Africa

50 Hurricane Road, Rand Airport, Germiston, South Africa

Phone: +27 (011) 082 1100,

Organisers E-mail:


In association with

Brits Flying Club

Brits Airfield, 0250

TEL: +27 71 444 0928


The South African Power Flying Association has hosted:

1991  – 7th World Rally Flying Championships– Stellenbosch Airfield

2003  – 13th World Rally Flying Championships– Pilanesberg Airfield

2011  – 20th World Precision Flying Championships – Brits Airfield

2021 –  22nd World Rally Flying Championships – Stellenbosch Airfield


Competition Director

Rob Jonkers

Competition Director Rob Jonkers

Deputy Competition Director 

To be advised

President of the Jury

Jacky Carriquiriberry (France)

Jury Members


Pedro Cabanero (Spain)

International Chief Judge

Ralf Grunwald (Germany)

Ralf Grunwald

Scoring Manager

Frank Eckard

Frank Eckard

Local Chief Judge

Jan Hanekom

Jan Hanekom

Route Planners

Cally & Frank Eckard

Cally Eckard

Safety Officers

Nigel Musgrave

Event Secretary


Head of Validations

Martin Meyer

Aircraft Hire

Ron Stirk

Car and Bus Hire

Bennie du Plessis

Finance Master

Mauritz du Plessis

Sponsorship Lead

Franz Smit

Aeroclub Representative

Rob Jonkers

Rob Jonkers

Media Boss

Sound Specialist